Perceptions

The way I see everything!!!

The Slumdog Phenomenon

with 2 comments

Went and saw Slumdog Millionaire today with SN. I was seeing this movie for the third time, and somehow, I was as excited as I was the first two times. Especially the scene where the kids are running, trying to escape the music as Rahman’s haunting voice and the drums beating the tume of a local train, the very essence of Mumbai, gives you goosebumps. All I can say is… What a scene!!! SN felt that the movie was horrifyingly true, something which a lot of Mumbaikars echoed. Well, sitting in multiplexes, paying 150 rupees for a ticket, when the other end of spectrum is shown on 70mm screen, one cannot help feeling amazed and hooked on to the screen. For people who have been talking on and on about the Mumbai Effect, and how horrifyingly close it is to reality, please read Maximum City by Suketu Mehta. A wonderful book on Mumbai.

I have been on a Mumbai trip for a while. First it was Shantaram, where the description of the Leopold Cafe and the underworld was fascinating. When Leopold (and Taj, the Oberoi and Nariman House) was attacked on 26/11/2008, there was this greater sense of wild belongingness to Mumbai engulfing me. NR gave me Maximum City, and I was again fascinated by the various dimensions of Mumbai that I was reading about in such depths for the first time. I knew they existed, but Suketu Mehta’s book gave an image that will be unforgettable. And then came Slumdog Millionaire. By now, I had spent so much time reading about Mumbai that I was not able to really feel the ‘Shock’ that most felt. I was just amazed by the way the child actors acted, Salim’s role in the movie, the pace with which the movie moved, Rahman’s music. I was gripped by so many things, that poverty, the so called underlying theme was even visible. Instead, what was tangible was how the movie was all of Mumbai. They say, in Mumbai, time flies like nowhere else in the world. Before you realise, the days, months, years, lifetimes come to an end. The movie was just that. The movie was just another one of those fast locals, that wait for no one. That have so many colorful characters who travel with you, represent a part of you. And Rahman’s music and Anthony Dod Mantle’s cinematography just add to the pace. And like every Mumbaikar’s story, all is well in the end.

I loved the movie. I loved the two books, Maximum City and Shantaram. I think, the last two months have endeared me to the city more than I have ever been. I am leaving Mumbai tomorrow, back to Bangalore. And this time, I want to stay back! Be a part of this city. Maybe, I will… Eventually!

Written by shivnarayan

Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 1:11 am

Posted in Movies, Music

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know who NR is, but who is SN? Oh and btw, I totally agree. I have read Maximum City and Shantaram, and they were awesome, but I personally thought Maximum City was more.. Mumbai-ish, if you know what i mean.

    koustav

    Friday, January 30, 2009 at 11:32 am

  2. SN is one of my oldest and closest friend from Mumbai. And Maximum City is so very Mumbai-ish. Infact, it pretty much defines what Mumbaiyya actually means. Lots of small details that make the city unique, from a neutral perspective. 🙂

    shivnarayan

    Friday, January 30, 2009 at 11:49 am


Leave a Reply

